Week 4: Artist Conversation- May Ta

IMG_6908.JPG

Artist: May Ta

Exhibition: Closer

Media: Acrylic Frames & Digital Photoshop with Ink Jet Printer

Gallery: Dennis W. Dutzi Gallery

Website: none

Email: maypta18@gmail.com

Instagram: maypta

About the Artist: May Ta is currently enrolled in her last year at California State University, Long Beach and will be graduating in the fall of 2016. She is planning on obtaining her Bachelor of Fine Arts degree in Illustration. May moved to the United States 4 years ago from Vietnam and began to draw as a child just like everyone else but her love for art grew more as she explored the art world more in depth. She began to really explore art and her possible career in art when she began college. May explained to me that she never really goes with certain themes for her art pieces but rather different stories that people may be able to relate to. Besides creating art pieces for galleries, May also enjoys creating graphic designs for various things.  In the future May plans to open up an art gallery to help support upcoming artists display their artwork.

Formal Analysis: This piece was made with white small acrylic frames and each frame was placed parallel to each other. I noticed with each photo the people behind the acrylic frames also had different facial expressions which went with the theme of the gallery. The photos were shopped with dull colors to accompany the theme and set a certain tone for this specific piece. The duller the colors of each photo, the more intimate the piece was.

Content Analysis: When May and her colleague created this gallery they wanted to choose a theme that was relatable for all their audience. They chose to pick a theme that spoke about the human body, intimacy, and relationships that we share with others or even with ourselves alone. She also explained that sometimes we do not express intimacy with others but our body tends to naturally desire it. May Ta’s analysis of the gallery explained that we sometimes also tend to isolate ourselves and by doing this we either tend to find ourselves or barrier and obstacle that we must over come before finding ourselves. over all most of the pieces made from May and her colleague were created to allow a stranger look into the lives of other people and by doing so they may find things they relate to or find fascinating.

Synthesis/My Experience: For me, this window panel piece created by May really intrigued me. By looking at each individual photo I could already comprehend the message behind the piece without really even knowing much about what the gallery was going to be about. I found this relatable since I myself am in a relationship and do find that I need to feel connected and intimate to my significant other. The message behind each photo I felt was somehow connected to me, whether it be I am happy or sad being alone/happy or sad being in the company of someone else. With that being said I felt this gallery’s message was beautiful and went on a deeper level making me think more about myself and the relationships I hold with others.

 

Leave a Reply

